How much does a restraining order cost in Indiana?
There is no cost to file a protective order. Clerk’s Office and court intake specialists will guide you through the process. It’s helpful to know the date of birth and/or address of the person you are filing the protective order against (the respondent).
What is needed for a restraining order in Indiana?
To obtain a restraining order in Indiana, you should first speak with a protective order attorney. Your attorney will ensure the paperwork is properly filled out and filed with the county clerk’s office. You must be able to prove the other person physically harmed you or placed you in fear of physical harm.
What is considered harassment in Indiana?
Harassment is defined as an act that intends to annoy, harass, or alarm another individual without any intent of legitimate communication. This may include phone calls, written communication, radio communication, or any communication by means of the internet or electronic devices.
Is intimidation a crime in Indiana?
You may be charged with a level 5 felony if your intimidation included the use of a deadly weapon. In the state of Indiana, level 5 felonies are punishable by up to 6 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
What counts as harassment in Indiana?
Harassment Charges Harassment is defined as an act that intends to annoy, harass, or alarm another individual without any intent of legitimate communication. This may include phone calls, written communication, radio communication, or any communication by means of the internet or electronic devices.
What is legally considered a threat in Indiana?
The state may charge you with intimidation/threat if it can prove you intended to do any of the following: Cause another person to engage in conduct against his or her will. Cause another person to fear for retaliation for a prior lawful act. Cause the evacuation of a building, vehicle or other structure.
How do I file a harassment complaint in Indiana?
- If You BelieveYour.
- Indiana Civil Rights Commission.
- Office: (317) 232-2600.
Is intimidation illegal in Indiana?
Under Indiana’s intimidation statute, an individual is prohibited from communicating with the intent to create fear of retaliation for a prior lawful act, or to force a person to engage in conduct against his or her will.
What constitutes harassment in Indiana?
What can be done about abusive texts?
If you are harassed by text, do not engage with your harassers. do not text back but instead, ensure you keep good records of the texts. Often people who are harassed by text are also harassed by anonymous phone calls.