How many restriction sites are there for BamHI?

Two-metal ion mechanism is the use of two metal ions to catalyze the cleavage reaction of restriction enzyme. BamHI has three critical active site residues that are important for metal catalyst.

What is the recognition site for SmaI?

SmaI endonuclease recognizes and cleaves the sequence CCC GGG. The enzyme requires magnesium for catalysis; however, equilibrium binding assays revealed that the enzyme binds specifically to DNA in the absence of magnesium.

What does SmaI mean?


Acronym Definition
SMAI Societe de Mathematiques Appliquees et Industrielles (French)
SMAI Styrene Maleic Anhydride Imide (resin)

Where can I find more details about BSA-free versions of BamHI?

Find more details at BamHI has a High Fidelity version BamHI-HF ® ( NEB #R3136 ). High Fidelity (HF) Restriction Enzymes have 100% activity in rCutSmart Buffer; single-buffer simplicity means more straightforward and streamlined sample processing.

What are the active site residues of the ionic compound BamHI?

BamHI has three critical active site residues that are important for metal catalyst. They are known as Asp94, Glu111 and Glu113. These residues are usually acidic. In the presence of a metal ion, the residues are pointed toward the metal ion. In the absence of metal ions, the residues are pointed outward.

What is the structure of BamHI in unbound form?

In its unbound form, BamHI displays a central b sheet, which resides in between α-helices. BamHI undergoes a series of unconventional conformational changes upon DNA recognition. This allows the DNA to maintain its normal B-DNA conformation without distorting to facilitate enzyme binding. BamHI is a symmetric dimer.

What is a unit of BamHI?

A E. coli strain that carries the BamHI gene from Bacillus amyloliquefaciens H (ATCC 49763). One unit is defined as the amount of BamHI required to digest 1 µg of λ DNA in 1 hour at 37°C in a total reaction volume of 50 µl..

Previous post What accommodations are appropriate for dyslexia?
Next post What does 4 pillars mean?