How many provinces are in India?

India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, for a total of 36 entities.

How many provinces does India have in 2022?

Indian States and Capitals 2022, 28 States and 8 Union Territories in India.

What are the 29 states of India and 7 territories?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.

  • Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. (
  • Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar.
  • Assam – Dispur.
  • Bihar – Patna.
  • Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur)
  • Goa – Panaji.
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar.
  • Haryana – Chandigarh.

What are the 11 provinces of India?

What did get implemented, however, was the act’s plan for democratic government in the 11 provinces of British India: Madras, Bombay, Bengal, United Provinces, Punjab, Bihar, Central Provinces and Berar, Assam, North West Frontier Province, Orissa and Sind.

Is Maharashtra a province?

The state of Maharashtra is located in the north-west of India. Its area is 307 690 km2 and its capital is Mumbai (formerly Bombay). There are more than 90 million people and the official language is marathi….

Location: Asia
Divisions 28 states, 7 territories

What are the 8 provinces of British India?

Major provinces

Province of British India Area (in thousands of square miles) Population (in millions of inhabitants)
Bengal 151 75
Madras 142 38
Bombay 123 19
United Provinces 107 48

What were the 8 provinces of British India?

Which province is Mumbai?

state of Maharashtra
Mumbai (English: /mʊmˈbaɪ/ ( listen), Marathi: [ˈmumbəi]; also known as Bombay /bɒmˈbeɪ/— the official name until 1995) is the capital city of the Indian state of Maharashtra and the de facto financial centre of India.

Is Pune a province?

Pune (Marathi: [puɳe] ( listen); English: /ˈpuːnə/; also known as Poona, the official name until 1978) is the seventh most populous city in India and the second-largest city in the state of Maharashtra, with an estimated population of 7.4 million as of 2020….Pune.

Pune Poona

What is province of Pune India?

Pune, also called Poona, city, west-central Maharashtra state, western India, at the junction of the Mula and Mutha rivers. Called “Queen of the Deccan,” Pune is the cultural capital of the Maratha peoples.

What are the three largest provinces in India?

– 5 under Madras – 354 under Bombay – 26 under Bengal – 2 under Assam – 34 under Punjab – 15 under Central Provinces and Berar – 2 under United Provinces.

What are the total number of provinces in India?


  • Bengal
  • Bihar
  • Bombay
  • Central India
  • Central Provinces
  • Madras
  • Mysore
  • Orissa
  • Punjab
  • Which is the biggest province in India?

    Provinces in India: Maharashtra: Biggest Cities: Uttar Pradesh: Biggest Cities: Delhi: Biggest Cities: West Bengal: Biggest Cities: Gujarat: Biggest Cities: Tamil Nadu: Biggest Cities: Andhra Pradesh: Biggest Cities: Karnataka: Biggest Cities: Madhya Pradesh: Biggest Cities: Rajasthan: Biggest Cities: Bihar: Biggest Cities: Punjab: Biggest Cities: Haryana: Biggest Cities: Kerala: Biggest Cities: Jharkhand

    Does India have provinces?

    Upon the Partition of British India into the Dominion of India and Dominion of Pakistan, 11 provinces (Ajmer-Merwara-Kekri, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Bombay, Central Provinces and Berar, Coorg, Delhi, Madras, Panth-Piploda, Orissa, and the Unit Continue Reading Poonam Sharma

    Previous post What is the difference between asexual and sexual reproduction and provide an example of each?
    Next post Where is the giant model of NYC?