How many divisions are in the SS?

Although initially restricted to four divisions, the Waffen-SS eventually fielded more than 20 divisions. This created an armed force of about half a million men and established a command and operations structure to rival the German army.

How big was an SS Panzer division?

20,000 soldiers
SS Panzer Division order of battle

SS Panzer Division
Role Armoured warfare
Size Division, up to 20,000 soldiers
Part of Waffen-SS
Engagements World War II

What happened to the 17th SS Division in WW2?

The 17th SS Division’s headquarters after bombardment by the USAAF on November 8, 1944. In early September, the division absorbed what was left of the SS Panzergrenadier Brigade 49 and SS Panzergrenadier Brigade 51, raising its infantry strength. However, replacements for missing tanks and assault guns arrived slowly.

How many men were in the 17th SS Panzergrenadier Division?

In total, the 17th SS Panzergrenadier Division fielded about 15,500 men. On the 16th SS-Brigadeführer Ostendorf was wounded and relieved by SS-Oberführer Eduard Diesenhoffer. The division was bolstered with a number of units of dubious utility.

What was the 17th SS-Panzer Division called?

The Götz von Berlichingen was placed under the LXXX Army Corps, a part of Generalfeldmarschall Gerd von Rundstedt’s Heeresgruppe D . As part of a plan to number all named SS divisions in early 1944, the division was re-titled the 17th SS-Panzer-Grenadier-Division “Götz von Berlichingen”.

What does 17th SS stand for?

The 17th SS Panzergrenadier Division “Götz von Berlichingen” (German: 17. SS-Panzergrenadier-Division “Götz von Berlichingen”) was a German Waffen-SS division that saw action on the Western Front during World War II.

Previous post Who was the chief of staff for Obama?
Next post What is your handle?