What are the 8 Egyptian gods?

Some of these deities’ names are well known: Isis, Osiris, Horus, Amun, Ra, Hathor, Bastet, Thoth, Anubis, and Ptah while many others less so.

What is Isfet the god of?

Isfet is the primordial deity and embodiment of chaos and lies in the Egyptian mythology, with his name meaning injustice, chaos, violence; and as a verb, to do evil. He is the counterpart to Maat, who is the embodiment of order and truth.

Who are the top 5 Egyptian gods?

Top Egyptian Gods and their Powers.

  • 1- The Egyptian God, Ra – God of the Sun.
  • 2- The Egyptian God, Osiris – God of Death.
  • 3- The Egyptian God, Horus – God of Goodness & Light.
  • 4- The Egyptian God, Seth – God of War.
  • 5- The Egyptian God, Anubis – God of the Dead & Mummification.
  • 6- The Egyptian God, Amun – God of The Air.

What is Maat and Isfet?

The narrative represents these twin aspects of life through the concepts of faith, and fear and chaos. Maat, the goddess of justice personifies faith and all positive aspects of life, whereas Isfet personifies chaos, and a strong sense of fear that arises because of it.

Who is opposite of Maat?

Maat was also the goddess who personified these concepts, and regulated the stars, seasons, and the actions of mortals and the deities who had brought order from chaos at the moment of creation. Her ideological opposite was Isfet (Egyptian jzft), meaning injustice, chaos, violence or to do evil.

What are the 4 main gods of Egypt?

Meet the Egyptian Gods

  • Ra. The god of the sun, Ra was the first pharaoh of the world, back in the days when gods inhabited Egypt.
  • Geb and Nut. The god of the earth, Geb was one of the first gods to appear from the sea of chaos at the beginning of time.
  • Shu.
  • Osiris.
  • Isis.
  • Set.
  • Nephthys.
  • Horus.
Previous post What is the difference between a Basque and a bustier?
Next post What is a single measurement of spirit?