What is Pratyanga?

Arunadatta, the commentator of Ashtanga Sangraha defined Pratyanga as ‘the structure or organ located in relation to the main part or organ of the human body’. Pratyangas are thus the sub-structures, sub-organs or secondary and attached minor organs (parts) located in relation to the major organs (parts).

What is Pratyanga in dance?

There are six Pratyangas – Skandha (shoulders), Bahu (arms), Prstha (back), Udara (stomatch), Uru(calves), Jangha (shanks). Some consider Manibandha (wrist), Kurpara (elbows) and Janu (knees) also as Pratyanga.

What is Anga upanga?

Anga – The angas include the following six parts of the body, head, hands, chest, sides (flanks), waist (hips) and feet. Some scholars include the neck also as an anga. Upanga – Scholars classify the shoulders and the parts of the body above it as upangas.

How many Upangas are there in Kathak?

It means there are 12 Upangas: Drishti – Eyes. Bhru – Eye-brows. Puta – Eye-lids. Tarah – Pupis.

How many Pratyang are there in Kathak?

6 types
There are 6 types of Pratyang: shoulders, forearms, stomach, back, thighs, and pelvis.

What is Purvas and angas?

Gautama and other Gandhars (the chief disciples of Mahavira) are said to have compiled the original sacred scriptures which were divided into twelve Angas or parts. They are referred to as the eleven Angas and the fourteen Pūrvas, since the twelfth Anga comprises fourteen Pūrvas.

What does visharad in Kathak mean?

Kathak Level 7 – Visharad Purna (1.5 to 2 years) This is the final level of all the kathak levels which is equated as the final degree of BA as after completion of this one a Kathak student comes out to be a well-versed performer and choreographer.

What is Lokadharmi and Natyadharmi?

Natyadharmi means theatre oriented and ‘Lokadharmi’ means life oriented. Natyadharmi pertains to the conventions of the stage. According to the Natya Shastra, Natyadharmi is theatrical representation larger than life and considerably conventionalized.

What are the 4 types of Abhinaya?


  • Expression of the limbs (Āṅgika Abhinaya)
  • Expression of speech (Vāchika Abhinaya)
  • Costume and scene (Āhārya Abhinaya)
  • True expression (Sāttvika Abhinaya)
  • Lokadharmi and Natyadharmi Abhinaya.

What is Ang and Upang?

Each category is explained below – Ang are the visible features in our body. There are six types of Ang – head, hands, chest, arms, hips, and feet. Upang are the smaller features present in our Ang. For example, the Upang on our face includes eyes, eyelids, eyebrows, etc.

What are the 12 Angas?

12 Angas: The 12 Angas are as follows:

  • Ācāranga sūtra.
  • Sūtrakrtanga.
  • Sthānānga.
  • Samavāyānga.
  • Vyākhyāprajñapti or Bhagavati sūtra.
  • Jnātrdhārmakathāh.
  • Upāsakadaśāh.
  • Antakrddaaśāh.

Which gharana is best in Kathak?

Kathak is found in three distinct forms, called “gharanas”, named after the cities where the Kathak dance tradition evolved – Jaipur, Banaras and Lucknow. While the Jaipur gharana focuses more on the foot movements, the Banaras and Lucknow gharanas focus more on facial expressions and graceful hand movements.

What is Diploma in Kathak?

Diploma in Kathak Dance – 2 Years (4 semesters) Kalā Udayan Kathak | कला उदयन कथक Diploma Programme is of 2 years after which students can enroll for 2-year Advanced Diploma. The dance content and training is equivalent to the 4-year BPA.

What is Lokadharmi in Bharatanatyam?

Lokadharmi refers to that mode of representation in traditional Indian performance that deals with the worldly activity of people. Lokadharmi is often set in opposition to the natyadharmi (stylized) mode of representation.

What does Abhinaya mean Bharatanatyam?

Abhinaya is one of the most important aspects in Bharatnatyam. A Sanskrit term, Abhinaya means to educate, or lead the way towards the audience.

What is the meaning of Angikam?

Abhinaya (Expressions)

Angikam Body
Bhuvanam World (or Universe)
Yasya Whose
Vaachikam Speech

Are Angas and agamas same?

Yes, Angas and Agamas are the same. The Angas are the 45 sacred Jain texts based on the tirthankara’s discourse.

What is the significance of Angas?

Angas: The Angas. These are regarded as the most important part of the Jain doctrines. They discuss religious rites, stages of a householder’s life, the vows of chastity, rules of conduct and other features of Jain Philosophy.

What is the meaning of Prathyangira?

Prathyangira ( Sanskrit: प्रत्यङ्गिरा, Tamil: பிரத்யங்கிரா; Prathyaṅgirā ), also called Atharvana Bhadrakali is a Hindu Goddess associated with Shakti. She is described as a goddess with a male lion ’s face and a female human body representing the union of Shiva and Shakti. She holds the combined destructive power of Shiva and Shakti.

Who is Pratyangira in the Vedas?

In the Vedas, Pratyangira is Atharvana Bhadrakali, the goddess of Atharva Veda and magical spells. There are many Hindu texts that state different legends of Narasimhi. According to many Puranas, at the end of Krita Yuga, a glittering spark appeared from the universe and transformed into a wicked demon named Vipulaasura.

What is Pratyangira worship in Hinduism?

Pratyangira is considered as a teevra murti. Pratyangira worship is strictly prohibited for people who have namesake Bhakti. Pratyangira worship is only done by the guidance of a Guru who is proficient in Tantra.

How many Pratyangas are there?

And, it says ( 42-45) the Pratyangas are also six; and, these include shoulder-blades; arms; back; belly, thigh; and shanks. It is also mentioned that some other include three more under this category: wrists, elbow and knees; and, sometimes also the neck

Previous post Where can I buy GVB 1 hour tickets?
Next post Does Oakley still make Jupiter Squared?