How Long Can child support arrears be collected in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin’s Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears) Enforcement of past due child support in Wisconsin is subject to a 20 year statute of limitations.
What happens if child support is not paid Wisconsin?
Court Actions If you’re convicted, the court may fine and/or jail you for not paying support. The child support agency or the parent who is owed support may file papers for a contempt hearing. Criminal nonsupport is a crime prosecuted by the district attorney.
How does back child support work in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin law requires interest charges of . 5 % per month (6 % per year) on past-due support. Effective April 1, 2014, interest charged on past-due support changed from 1% per month (12% per year) to . 5% per month (6% per year).
What is the interest rate on child support arrears in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin law requires interest charges of 0.5% per month (6% a year) on past-due support. Interest charges begin when the past-due support amount equals or exceeds the amount due in one month.
What is the maximum child support in Wisconsin?
25% of income for 2 children. 29% of income for 3 children. 31% of income for 4 children. 34% of income for 5 or more children.
How often is child support reviewed in WI?
You have the right to have your court order reviewed by the child support agency every 33 months or if there is a significant change in circumstances which will result in a payment change of 15% of the current order and the difference will be at least $50.
Is Wisconsin child support an essential government service?
We understand that families rely on child support payments being processed timely, and consider the Wisconsin Child support program to be an essential government service.
How do I contact my local Child Support Agency?
You may also contact your local child support agency during business hours Monday – Friday for other questions related to your case; click on the down arrow on the “Contacts” button on the left side of this page, then the “Agency Contacts” button to find your local agency contact information.
What happens if a parent owes past-due child support?
If a parent owes past-due support, the amount withheld from their paycheck may be increased – up to 50% of the current support amount ordered by the court. The federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) limits the total amount that can be withheld from a payer’s wages.
When is interest charged on child support?
Interest charges begin when the past-due support amount equals or exceeds the amount due in one month. Interest is charged even if the parent is paying on the debt. It is not charged for unpaid birth costs or fees.